New to game,first impression, my experience

I’m really new to this, I bought the game 3 days ago at book off thinking for its price I was thinking just going to get a kick for a few hours. Turns out me and my girl friend both love the game even though we didn’t have a save option for ps4 we both were really upset about it cause we took turns seeing how far we can make it off line. It didn’t discourage me. I felt bad cause shes a hard core rpg player and she loves to collect things. Even calls her inventory her treasures. She logged back in and poof restarted to the beginning. So I went here to see whats up. Figured the update might fix something for us. I just got finished with trying the update. I think shes going to be very happy I might warn her to keep the difficulty low. But from the first version to this most recent version just to discover the developers are actively making the game better with a community there with the helping hand. I see why really good reviewers are calling this game a :gem: gem. Me and friends sat around it today and got laughs, scares and a satisfying challenge. We kinda passed the controller around learning from eachother failures like local split screen. Trying all different approaches. It was great fun that way. I still never crossed the bridge to the bigger islands. I’m still not that far into the game