Please Add New Games


#1

I love the game, zero complaints. Well except one. New characters don’t have their own save progress? I want to enjoy the game solo and have it separate from the game I play with a friend. Would it be possible for you to add new save games for me to enjoy?!


#2

They’re supposed to… It’s another bug that they use your other character’s progress, allegedly.


#3

If your on Xbox, you can have a separate xbl profile / smurf account to do this.

Not ideal, but it’ll work as a way to do it short term


#4

Hello TheBurger, I don’t know why you would give this answer, seeing as it’s completely false.
The savegames work as intended right now. Creating a new character only resets your XP and your inventory as of now. I’m trying to change that at the moment, but there are no plans of changing it from the Devs right now.


#5

I’m thinking about either doing that, or buying it again for PS4. Just wish I didn’t have to


#6

The fact that you have zero complaints makes me curious considering the large number of game breaking bugs. However, in the bugs topic section you’ll find quite a bit of people warning others that when making another player it will glitch. What would be the point of resetting character stats and inventory(which didn’t happen for some players and kept both) just to continue off at the same point in the game? HOW are you supposed to level up if missions are completed? I myself have experienced this bug, and other players have noted in the bugs section that when you create a second character the map data may disappear for your main, inventory will remain intact, and story progress will carry over. If it works “as intended” then you must be the only person with a pristine functioning copy of GZ.


#7

I was talking about mission progress carrying over. That’s 100% intended. The only things you lose creating a new character is your level and your inventory

Map data disappearing is a bug and is not only triggered when creating new characters.


#8

I would like this as well. This is very annoying the way it currently is. As far as “features” go, this is one that’s left me scratching my head and wondering why the hell this was “as intended”, as it makes absolutely no sense and is detrimental to the game. I can’t fathom how anyone would have thought this was a good idea.

I finished the game story and have what I suspect is the vast majority of safe houses unlocked. Other than searching for those few missing locations, there’s really nothing left for me to do in the game other than wander around and shoot random robots, so I wanted to start a new character / new game and start over from scratch knowing what I know now.

Well unfortunately, this strange design decision prevents me from doing that. I get a new character with no XP or inventory starting over from the start, but with no missions or objectives to play, making leveling up a new character far more difficult and making the game pointless to replay. Currently the only way to start over is to delete our saved games and start over from scratch. While that works for my immediate desire to start the game over, it messes me up for multiplayer.

I have a friend I play with coop on his game, and he’s pretty advanced (currently about 75% of the way to the end). When playing with him, I WANT to use my high level character, not a new character with no XP or weapons. But I don’t want my progress in his game “polluting” my single player experience. I don’t want to be leaving the starter island with an OP level 25 character with all the high end gear and safe houses all around the map already unlocked. I want to earn those

Currently, there’s only one way to do this on PC:

  • disable Steam cloud sync
  • move my save game files out of the save game folder
  • create new game for when I play solo.
  • when I want to play coop with that friend again, I have to move the new save game files out of my folder and move the old ones back

This is actually ridiculous. There’s no reason I should have to go through this to play a new game. And that’s with the convenience of being on a PC. Console players have it even worse.

So PLEASE add the functionality to allow us to start new games with new characters without deleting our old game progress. This is how EVERY game in the history of video games that offered multiple save slots has ever worked. How could anyone think that changing that to the current system is a good idea?


#9

New game with each character would be great. I play the game with many friends and we all have different progressions. I like to play solo sometimes but if I do it would progress the story and my friends would not be able to see what is going on.